Our leadership team is dedicated to sustaining the exceptional care you receive at Phelps

With some of the highest patient satisfaction scores in the nation, Phelps Hospital has earned distinction for consistently delivering the kind of cutting-edge, comprehensive and fully integrated medical care that you, an informed and savvy patient, deserve.

Behind the outstanding care we provide is our senior leadership, a team of professionals with decades of experience in medicine and nursing, risk management, quality assurance, social work, clinical research, and law. These physicians and nurses, healthcare administrators, and health information technology specialists, set the standards of excellence that Phelps meets everyday, earning praise from our patients and peers. When you walk through our doors you will feel the combined experience of our leadership team and the commitment to excellence and innovation that makes Phelps the hospital you trust.

Daniel Blum addressing group from May 11 ribbon cutting

Phelps Hospital is dedicated to serving you – our community family – 24 hours a day, every day of the year. Over 1,700 employees, 500 doctors and hundreds of volunteers are committed to provide you with quality, compassionate care.

- Daniel Blum, President
We are dedicated to supporting a healthy community.
logo the joint commission national quality approval
Phelps is proud to have earned numerous accreditations and recognitions.

Kenneth Taber

Board Chairman

Daniel Blum

President and CEO

Tobe Banc, MD

Senior VP and Medical Director

Mary McDermott, MSN, RN, APRN, NE-BC

Senior VP, Patient Care Services

Chief Nursing Officer

James McCullagh

Associate Executive Director of Finance

Eileen Egan, RN, Esq

VP, Quality Assurance, Risk Management and Governance

Tracy Feiertag

VP of Service Lines and Physician Practices

Robbins Gottlock, MD

VP and Associate Medical Director

William Reifer

VP, Quality & Case Management

Helen Renck, MSN, RN, CJCP, JCC

VP, Clinical Operations

Patient Security Officer

Jill M. Scibilia, CFRE

VP Development

Glen Taylor

VP, Support Services

A team of dedicated doctors and other personnel serve as leaders for our medical staff. They represent our physicians and other medical staff, and are responsible for helping us to meet the needs of our team, so that they may in turn provide quality medical care to our patients.

Emil Nigro, M.D., President
Michael McCormick, M.D., Vice President
Peter Stein, M.D., Secretary
Jay Weinberger, M.D., Treasurer
Michael Butman, M.D., Elected rep. from Medicine
Sonia Kohli, M.D., Elected rep. from Medicine
Deya Jourdy, M.D./Jean Tostanoski, M.D., Elected reps. from Surgery
Frank Lattarulo, D.P.M., Elected rep. from Surgery
Lorraine Carpino, Director, Medical Staff Affairs

Each of our patient care departments is led by one of our distinguished doctors. They are responsible for the overall leadership of the department, as well as representing their staff among other department heads and hospital leadership.

Matthew Cullen, M.D., Director, Dept. of Anesthesiology
Barry Geller, M.D., Director, Dept. of Emergency Medicine
Monique Forsea, M.D., Director, Dept. of Family Medicine
Arthur Fass, M.D., Director, Dept. of Medicine
Lisa Spiryda, M.D., Interim Director, Dept. of Obstetrics & Gynecology
Gregory Massimi, M.D. , Interim Director, Dept. of Pathology
Mazen Khalifeh, M.D., Director, Dept. of Pediatrics
Yelena Zack, M.D., Interim Director, Dept. of Psychiatry
L. Mark Russakoff, M.D., Associate Director, Dept. of Psychiatry
Janna Andrews, M.D., Interim Director, Dept. of Radiation Medicine
Robert Perelman, M.D., Director, Dept. of Radiology
Anthony Febles, M.D., Associate Director, Dept. of Radiology
Robert Raniolo, M.D., Director, Dept. of Surgery
Michael Grasso, M.D., Director, Dept. of Urology

For more efficient management and hospital organization, our departments are segmented into sections and divisions based on specialty. Division chiefs represent their particular specialty to their department head and to the rest of the hospital’s leadership.

Richard Becker, M.D., Chief of Cardiology
Jeffrey Sturza, M.D., Chief of Dermatology
Eric Wachs, D.M.D., Chief of Dental/Oral Surgery
Floyd Byfield, M.D., Chief of Gastroenterology
Richard Findling, M.D., Assistant Section Chief of Gastroenterology
Har Chi Lau, M.D., Chief of General Surgery
Anna Komorowski, MD, Interim Chief of Hematology/Oncology
Thomas Rush, M.D., Chief of Infectious Diseases
Louis Buzzeo, M.D., Chief of Nephrology
Cary Buckner, Chief of Neurology
John Robbins, M.D., Chief of Neurosurgery
Jean Tostanoski, M.D., Chief of Ophthalmology
Gregg Cavaliere, M.D., Chief of Orthopedics
Craig Zalvan, M.D., Chief of Otorhinolaryngology
Jock Avolio, M.D., Chief of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Christian Guzman, M.D., Chief of Plastic Surgery
John Cappa, D.P.M., Chief of Podiatry
Steven Thau, M.D., Chief of Pulmonary Medicine
Darren Rohan, M.D., Chief of Thoracic Surgery
Kenneth Goldstein, M.D., Chief of Vascular Surgery

Kenneth Taber, Chair
Kenneth Miller, Vice Chair
Richard Sinni, Vice Chair
Bard E. Bunaes, Treasurer
Jim Goldsmith, Secretary
Daniel Blum, President
Patricia Armstrong
Tobe Banc, M.D.
John Barnes
Richard D. Goldstein
Aubrey Hawes
Loretta London
Fred Mascia

Andrew Merryman
Ralph A. Nappi
Emil Nigro, M.D.
Richard Peress, M.D.
Kevin Plunkett
Diane Potter
Peter Scherer

Joseph Schulman
Michael D. Sullivan
Louis Wachtel
Craig Zalvan, M.D.
Franklin H. Zimmerman, M.D.